10% off

Ends in 0 days, 0 hours and 0 minutes
PingPlayers
Articles in section

How to Back up and Migrate your Server Data in your Necesse Server

This article provides a comprehensive guide on backing up and migrating data for a Necesse server. It details methods using the File Manager and FTP, outlines steps for data management, and offers troubleshooting tips to ensure smooth operation.

 

Managing your Necesse server files is crucial for maintaining your game data. You can manage these files through either the File Manager or FTP. The File Manager is conveniently available from the left side panel of our website, and it's user-friendly, providing features to download, upload, rename, create, move, and delete files or folders.
 

Before you make any modifications to the server files, it’s important to shut down your server. This helps prevent any corruption that could break your server data.

 


Connecting Through FTP

 

You can also manage your server files by connecting via FTP. For a step-by-step guide on connecting through FTP, you can check our guide here.

All saves are compressed into .zip format and must remain in this format to be read by the server. You can uncompress the world save folders, make changes in a text editor, and then recompress them to upload. Each world folder contains settings.dat, player data, and the overall world state.
Always back up your world folder before making any manual changes.

 


Backing Up Your Data

 

For this guide we'll use our File Manager feature for a better visual representation. Follow these steps to back up your data:

 

  1. Shut down your server.
    To achieve this, click on the “Actions” option on the left panel.
  2. Go to File Manager on the side menu or connect through FTP.
  3. Locate your world save in /Server/saves/worlds/.

 

  1. Download the world .zip file to your PC.
    Click on the 3 dots on the far right side to manage each file.

 

  1. Restart the server to continue playing.
    Click on the same “Actions” option that we used but this time select “Restart”.

 


Migrating Another Server's Data

 

You can also migrate your played progression from a different server into you new server. To fully migrate another server's data, follow these steps:
 

  1. Locate your save folder in C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming\Necesse\saves\worlds or run the command %appdata%\Necesse\saves\worlds.
    To run the command, click the Windows logo in your taskbar and type “Run” to open the app.

     

  2. Shut down your server.
    To achieve this, click on the “Actions” option on the left panel.
  3. Go to File Manager on the side menu or connect through FTP.
  4. Upload the world folder to /Server/saves/worlds/.

     

(Optional) If needed, copy the content from the other server’s server.cfg file and create a new template in Config Manager to replicate the same settings.
You could translate it to the Basic Settings using AI Assist or manually.

    Assign that template to your server instance.

 

  1. Restart the server to continue.

Troubleshooting

 

If you encounter issues, here are some things to check:

  • Save file isn’t recognized: Ensure the “Load World” variable has the exact same name as the world file name.
  • My world is not being loaded and a fresh new one was created: This may occur if your save file isn’t compressed correctly or is corrupted. Make sure the world file is in the correct format and that no mods are causing issues.
  • I had mods in my world, can I load that one? Yes, you will need to add the same mods to both your client and server. You can find our guide about mods here.

 


If you have any questions or need assistance, feel free to reach out to our customer care agents through our live chat or email at support@pingplayers.com. 

 

Happy gaming!

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalized ads or content, and analyze our traffic. By clicking "Accept All", you consent to our use of cookies.